STANDING COMMITTEE Report to Diocesan Convention 2024

This report covers the business conducted by the Standing Committee from November 2023 through October 2024.

The Committee met on the following dates via Zoom: November 14, 2023, January 2, 2024, February 6, 2024, March 12, 2024, April 9, 2024, June 11, 2024, July 9, 2024, September 10, 2024, and October 8, 2024

The Committee met on the following dates in person: December 12, 2023, (Calvary, East Liberty) January 20, 2024 (St. Paul's, Mt. Lebanon), April 6, 2023 (Ordination Interviews, Calvary, East Liberty), May 14, 2024 (Calvary, East Liberty)

On January 20, 2024, the Standing Committee participated in a Joint Diocesan Leadership Meeting held at St. Paul's. Mt. Lebanon with the Bishop, the Board of Trustees, Diocesan Council and the District Chairs.

At our organizational meeting on January 2, 2024, Florence Atwood was elected President, the Rev. Laura Di Panfilo was elected Secretary, the Rev. Bonnie-Marie Yager-Wiggan was appointed Chaplain, and the Rev. Nancy Threadgill was appointed as the Standing Committee's liaison to the Commission on Ministry.

Episcopal Consents Given:

- Diocese of California (The Rev. Austin Keith Rios)
- Diocese of Mississippi (The Rev. Dorthy Sanders Wells)
- Diocese of Rochester (The Rev. Kara Wagner Sherer)
- Diocese of Olympia (The Rev. Phillip N. LaBelle)
- Diocese of Massachusetts (The Rev. Julia E. Whitworth)
- Consent to request of the Diocese of West Texas to elect a Suffragan Bishop

Recommendations for Candidacy:

• Guy Brown (Priesthood)

Consents for Ordination:

- Consented to the ordination of Deanna Briody to the Diaconate
- Consented to the ordination of Jack Brownfield to the Diaconate
- Consented to the ordination of Guy Brown to the Diaconate
- Consented to the ordination of Theodore Somes to the Diaconate
- Consented to the ordination of Nicole Starr to the Diaconate

Vacancies on Diocesan Boards and Committees:

Consented to the appointment of Steve Bloomberg as Vice-Chancellor

Property Issues:

- Consented to the sale of St. Peter's Rectory, Brentwood
- Consented to the sale of St. Mark's Rectory, Johnstown
- Consented to the closure of Advent, Brookline

Other Business:

- Statement on the Role of the Standing Committee in the Candidacy and Ordination Process
- Episcopal Mutual Ministry Review development and execution
- Consent to Bylaws Revision St. Brendan's, Franklin Park

Appointments:

• Appointed Mr. Jon Delano as Judge of Elections for the 2024 Diocesan Convention (Joint Appointment with Bishop)

I want to express my thanks to the current members of the Standing Committee: Kathy Baird, the Rev. Dr. Moni McIntyre, the Rev. Nancy Threadgill, Wesley Rohrer, The Rev. Laura DiPanfilo (*Secretary*), the Rev. Cn. Bonnie-Marie Yager-Wiggan (*Chaplain*), Eileen Sharbaugh and to the Rev. Neil Raman and Steve Stagnitta, whose terms expired at the end of 2023.

Respectfully submitted, Florence W. Atwood President